About Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban)


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) - Housing for All Mission was launched on 25th June 2015.




The objective of the Mission is to provide Central assistance to implementing agencies through States/Union Territories (UTs) for providing houses to all eligible families/beneficiaries by 2022.


Coverage and Duration:


  1. The scheme focuses to cover the entire urban area consisting of all statutory towns and areas including Notified Planning/ Development Area/ Industrial Development Authority/Special Area Development Authority/ Urban Development Authority or any such Authority under the State legislation which is entrusted with the functions of urban planning and regulations. So far 4,331 cities/towns have been included under PMAY (U).
  2. The duration of the Mission is seven years (FY: 2015-16 to FY: 2021-22).


Components of the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban):


In order to address Housing for All in urban areas, the Mission has the following four verticals:






Ownership of houses:


Beneficiaries of EWS are covered under all four verticals of the Mission while LIG and MIG beneficiaries are eligible for benefits under CLSS. House is to be allotted in the name of adult female member or in joint name and all houses to have toilet facility, drinking water and power supply. Preference is given to persons with disabilities, ST/ SC/ OBCs, minorities and transgender



Selection process of projects:


As per the scheme guidelines of PMAY (U), the States/UTs are required to prepare Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) covering the eligible beneficiaries as per demand survey in the particular urban cities/towns and get these approved by the State Level Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (SLSMC) before these projects are considered by Central Government for considering the admissible central assistance involved in consonance with the scheme guidelines. Thus, selection of projects under PMAY (U) and their implementation are with the State/UT Governments.


Copyright @ 2019 Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Govt. of India. All rights reserved